Actress, Rochelle Davis

A little over a week ago at Horror Realm Convention in Pittsburgh, PA I ended up having my table next to the table of actress, Rochelle Davis best known for the role of ‘Sarah’ in the 1994  film “The Crow” starring Brandon Lee.  As a longtime fan of the film, it was a huge honor to be able to sit and talk to her at the convention and was thrilled when she agreed to do an interview for the webzine.  In addition to being a talented actress, she is also an inspiration to those who have gone or may be currently going through some hardships.  Read on and check out her website for more.
MU: I’d like to open up by saying that I’m a huge, longtime fan of “The Crow.”  I’ve been on your web site and you have been through a lot  since the making of “The Crow”, but we’ll start with the basics.  First, tell us a little about yourself and background.


RD: I am 32 a mother of one child who is 9, I love movies and music. I like to criticize movies and music and TV shows. I also write poetry and make Art, such as collages. I consider myself to be a pretty upbeat fun person. 

MU: What sort of audition process did you go through for “The Crow” and how did you find out about your landing the role?


RD: I went through 4 months of auditioning up against about 1500 girls. I got numerous call backs and then one day I was told by my agent that I was hired and would be going to North Carolina to film for 3-4 Months.



MU: I’m sure there were many amazing and memorable moments from the set; but are there any that really stand out for you?


RD:  There is one a fan reminded me of recently. Brandon hated dogs so I joked with him about buying him a dog for his wedding present and he said That’s fine I’ll just “Wok” it. It was hilarious 

 

MU:  One thing I love is how open and honest you are on your web site and bio as many actors and actresses would gloss over hardships in order to give the illusion of ‘perfection.’  What would you say has gotten you through the tough times and keeps you motivated today?


RD:  It’s many things. I am a naturally strong woman, they say women are like tea bags. You don’t know how strong they are until you put them in hot water. I firmly believe that. Sometimes it’s just the thought of my son that gets me through it and sometimes it’s just realizing that we are all humans and we are only dished out what we can handle from the universe.



MU:  What are your views on the state of the entertainment industry right now (eg. reality TV, auto tuned voices in today’s music, etc) and does it differ in any way from when you were working on “The Crow”?


RD:  Oh very much so. I think reality TV is a joke and makes most people look stupid or just exposes their weaknesses. I can’t stand that someone’s voice can sound great on CD and then you hear them live and they are terrible, or they lip sink to the CD which is totally cheating in my book. Making the crow was a lot of raw emotions involved. The director Alex was very comfortable and natural and asked us to be the same. It was truly an amazing experience. 



MU:  I also see that you are into doing photography, writing poetry, and making music.  What inspires you to make your art and are there plans for things like photography books, CDs, and the like?


RD: I am learning more about photography, piano, voice and I love to write, I have a screen play idea that I want to write and I am also thinking of writing a book about my life including The Crow and all my hardships I was going to call it “It can’t rain all the time” 



MU:  Finally, will we be seeing any more acting from you in the future?  What’s next for Rochelle Davis?



RD:  Not sure. I am working on getting representation now an then I will see where that takes me . For now I am just being me 🙂
Check out and learn more about Rochelle at the following sites:
ABOUT THE INTERVIEWER:  Tiffany Apan is an award winning and acclaimed independent recording artist along with being a stage/film actress, producer, and writer.  You can find more about her at her Official Website , Web Blog, MySpace , Twitter , and Facebook She can also be found on IMDb and her music releases on CDBaby along with iTunes, Amazon, and other digital retailers.  She also writes for the publications Rogue Cinema and Horrornews.netShe is also responsible for starting up the Music’s Underworld Webzine .

Leave a comment