Michelle Shields: Actress/Model/TV Show Host

We had the pleasure of interviewing Actress/Model/TV Show Host, Michelle Shields.  Shields is known for her work in films, “Frankenstein: Day of the Beast,” “Post Mortem: America 2012,” “Not Another B Movie,” and “Sister Mary.”  Comic fans may recognize her likeness in ‘Deadly Threads’ and she has hosted/co-hosted TV shows, “Indy Chicago” and “World of the Weird Monster Show.”  Oh yeah, and she also had a role in a little film you may have heard of called “The Dark Knight.”  Read on to find out more about Michelle AND why nerds are sexy too!

MU: So when and how was it you decided to make acting and entertainment your career and livelihood?

MS: I have always known that I wanted to be involved in film. From as early on as I can remember I always
loved entertaining my family and friends at every occasion. My favorite activity was watching movies over
and over so I could act them out later. As I got older I made to sure join all the school plays and musicals.
In school I was known for my acting, singing, and always being a jokester. After I was casted in my first
film at 16 I was definitely hooked. Whether in front of the camera or behind it, film has been a really big
part of my life and I have a true passion for it.

MS: What would you say was the project that made fans and other industry professionals recognize your name? In other words, which project would you say was your “break”? Or was it something that built itself up over time?

MU:  It’s hard to say there has been just one role that I have been known for. My career has been more of the built up type I would say. People do know me from shorts like “Special Day”, “Exile”, and “Illusion” and also from feature lengths like “Post Mortem America 2021”, “Sister Mary”, and “Frankenstein: Day of the Beast”. I have also been featured in many comic books from Comic Book Divas like “Behind the Mask”, “Fangs”, and “Deadly Threads”.

MU:  I asked this question in Nicole Kruex’s interview, but I’m interested in getting other’s viewpoints on it as well. The mainstream media tends to saturate us with the stories of “overnight successes” with all the reality tv ‘stars,’ American Idols, and the ‘cinderella stories’ of how “so and so became an
overnight sensation in a matter of five minutes.” Would you say that such articles and stories tend to give (especially) young people trying to break into the industry a sort of false hope and distorted view as to how the industry really works?

MS: First off, I feel there is a significant difference between reality tv stars and actors. Actors are able to convey many different emotions and can play different characters whereas most reality tv stars play themselves or an exaggerated version of themselves. Many people long for the idea of being famous with little thought of what exactly they wish to be famous for. There are many celebrities that are essentially famous for nothing. It is usually the case, with few exceptions, that most overnight successes don’t stand the test of time. The entertainment industry is all about networking and time. If a young person wants to become the next big movie star or great singer it really takes a lot of time and effort.
I feel a lot of people do get swept up in these Cinderella stories and become very discouraged when nothing happens for them right away. People don’t often realize that most of these Cinderella stories are presented to us merely as a marketing tool to increase ratings and sell magazines. Everyone loves a
great story. What will get you far is having a passion for what you do and perfecting your talent.

MU:  Now having been in your fair share of horror films, I’m sure you’ve been tagged with the title, Scream Queen. Do you see this as a positive or negative impact on a person’s career? Do you think the title tends to get overused and misused nowadays?

MS:  I have been tagged with the title Scream Queen and I always tell people that I’m not a Scream Queen but merely an actress that plays one. There are many fantastic actresses that do deserve that title however I do feel like the term is being overused these days. I have seen ladies labeled as a Scream
Queen after being in one horror film and they don’t even scream. It has become almost a generic label for women who act in horror films. The title has really changed its meaning since the 80’s and these days it seems that any woman that has anything to do with horror is labeled as one.

MU:  In addition to your acting projects, you’ve also been made a comic book character in Deadly Threads put out by Comic Book Divas along with being a fan of the genre. Who was your favorite comic book character growing up?

MS: One thing I always loved growing up was reading comic books. Asking for my favorite character can get a little tricky hahaha. I have always loved Neil Gaiman’s character Death. She is beautifully written and drawn in every comic I’ve seen her in. She has an amazing outlook on life. When it comes to other comic book characters its really hard to say what my favorite one is however I absolutely love Batman and all of the Batman mythology. All of the characters have such amazing backgrounds and psychology behind them that it makes you really care about every character. I have made my own costumes and cosplayed as many characters from the DC universe including Harley Quinn, Zatanna, and a couple different versions of Catwoman. I have a large collection of comics as well as models I’ve built that include many comic book characters. Yes, I am very much a nerd 🙂

MU:  Stemming from the third question, if someone fresh out of high school came to you wanting advice on ‘making it’ in the entertainment industry, what sort of advice would you give them?

MS: I would first ask them how serious and passionate they were about it. This is not something you just “do”, this is a lifestyle change. If they were unsure I’d tell them to take some acting classes or workshops and see how they like it. This industry takes a lot of time and effort so it’s nice to be able to enjoy what you do. I would tell anyone that wants advice to take classes to perfect their art. It’s important to start meeting people and networking in the industry. Seek out auditions and try your best.  Not everyone has to go to Hollywood to “make it” however most of the best opportunities will be there.  Just remember that it takes time and to make sure only do things that you want to do.

MU: And last but not least, are there any new projects everyone should be on the lookout for?

MS:  I have a lot of new projects coming up and everyone can always keep updated with my projects and
appearances by going to my Facebook page facebook.com/MichelleShieldsActress.

www.facebook.com/MichelleShieldsActress

www.imdb.com/name/nm2512598/

www.youtube.com/theMichelleShields

www.myspace.com/michelleshields

Tiffany Apan is an award winning and acclaimed independent recording artist along with being a stage/film actress, producer, and writer.  You can find more about her at her Official Website , Web Blog, MySpace , Twitter , and Facebook She can also be found on IMDb and her music releases on CDBaby along with iTunes, Amazon, and other digital retailers.  She also writes for the publications Rogue Cinema and Horrornews.netShe is also responsible for starting up the Music’s Underworld Webzine .

2 thoughts on “Michelle Shields: Actress/Model/TV Show Host

  1. Pingback: It’s February at Music’s Underworld! « Music's Underworld

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Michelle Shields! « Music's Underworld

Leave a Reply

